Kris Bock Romance and Suspense

Need a vacation? Go on a Southwest adventure for the price of a latte!

Kris Bock writes novels of suspense and romance involving outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. In Counterfeits, stolen Rembrandt paintings bring danger to a small New Mexico town. Whispers in the Dark features archaeology and intrigue among ancient Southwest ruins. What We Found is a mystery with strong romantic elements about a young woman who finds a murder victim in the woods. The Mad Monk’s Treasure follows the hunt for a long-lost treasure in the New Mexico desert. In The Dead Man’s Treasure, estranged relatives compete to reach a buried treasure by following a series of complex clues. The Skeleton Canyon Treasure brings back two reader favorites – brainy Camie and the big orange cat named Tiger – for their own adventure. All of these full-length novels are complete and stand alone, with no cliffhangers.

Read excerpts at www.krisbock.com or visit her Amazon page.

Sign up for Kris Bock’s newsletter for announcements of new books, sales, and more.

Fans of Mary Stewart, Victoria Holt, Barbara Michaels, Terry Odell, Kathryn Shay, or Leslie A. Kelly will fall in love with Kris Bock’s stories of suspense and romance.

 

 

The Mad Monk’s Treasure 

The lost Victorio Peak treasure is the stuff of legends – a heretic Spanish priest’s gold mine, made richer by the spoils of bandits and an Apache raider. When Erin, a quiet history professor, uncovers a clue that may pinpoint the lost treasure cave, she prepares for adventure. But when a hit and run driver nearly kills her, she realizes she’s not the only one after the treasure. And is the handsome pilot who found her bleeding in a ditch really a hero, or one of the enemy?

The Mad Monk’s Treasure is an action-packed adventure in the New Mexico desert.

“Great balance of history, romance, and adventure. Smart romance with an “Indiana Jones” feel. Well-written with an attention to detail that allowed me to picture exactly in my head how a scene looked and played out.” – Jules R.

 

 

The Dead Man’s Treasure

Rebecca Westin’s grandfather left her a buried treasure – if she can decipher a complex series of clues leading to it. Her half-siblings are determined to reach the treasure first. Good thing Rebecca has help, in the form of a green-eyed charmer determined to make their desert adventure sexy and fun. But a treacherous enemy will do anything to get that treasure – and revenge.

Action and romance combine in this lively Southwestern adventure, complete with riddles the reader is invited to solve. The Dead Man’s Treasure is book 2 in the New Mexico treasure hunters series. (Each book stands alone, with a different hero and heroine.) 

The Dead Man’s Treasure is fast-paced and a perfect read for the weekend. I highly recommend this one. – reviewer Amy Brantley

 

 

The Skeleton Canyon Treasure

When Camille Dagneau surprises a strange man in the college machine shop she runs, she’s ready for battle. Ryan McGloin seems equally suspicious of her, but he insists he’s merely looking for his missing uncle, who has disappeared while hunting for a lost treasure. He believes Camie is the key to finding the treasure, and his uncle. But Camie – beautiful, brilliant, and prickly – isn’t about to trust this oversized geologist, or the attraction she feels.

Following the clues in the missing man’s journal will take Camie, Ryan, and the cat Tiger on a trail through New Mexico and Arizona. They’ll visit the Tombstone graveyard at night, uncover clues in museums, and ultimately wind up in Skeleton Canyon, where rumor says nineteenth-century cowboy bandits secreted their treasure in a cave. To rescue Ryan’s uncle, they’ll face steep cliffs, twisty tunnels, and worse dangers in human form, but trusting each other may be the biggest challenge. And they’re running out of time ….

If you love suspense and romance, don’t miss this gripping adventure!

 

 

Counterfeits

Jenny returns to her grandparents’ art camp in a remote New Mexico town after her grandmother’s sudden death. That night, staying alone in the empty house, she wakes to the noise of intruders. What do the strangers want? As more bizarre events unfold, Jenny starts to realize the people she thought she knew are not what they seem – least of all Rob, an old friend and the camp cook, whose past may be coming back to haunt them all.

Counterfeits is romantic suspense in the New Mexico mountains.

‘Counterfeits’ is the kind of romantic suspense novel I have enjoyed since I first read Mary Stewart’s ‘Moonspinners’, and Kris Bock used all the things I love about this genre. Appealing lead characters, careful development of the mysterious danger facing one or both of those characters, a great location that is virtually a character on its own, interesting secondary characters who might or might not be involved or threatened, and many surprises building up to the climax. 5 Stars – Roberta at Sensuous Reviews blog

 

 

What We Found

When Audra stumbles on a murdered woman in the woods, more than one person isn’t happy about her bringing the crime to light. She’ll have to stand up for herself in order to stand up for the murder victim. It’s a risk, and so is reaching out to the mysterious young man who works with deadly birds of prey. But with danger all around, some risks are worth taking. 

What We Found brings mystery and romance to small-town New Mexico.

“Another action-packed suspense novel by Kris Bock, perhaps her best to-date. The author weaves an intriguing tale with appealing characters. Watching Audra, the main character, evolve into an emotionally-mature and independent young woman is gratifying.” – Reader Ellen Rippel

 

 


Whispers in the Dark

Kylie Hafford craves adventure when she heads to the remote Puebloan ruins of Lost Valley, Colorado, to excavate. Romance isn’t in her plans, but she soon meets two sexy men: Danesh looks like a warrior from the Pueblo’s ancient past, and Sean is a charming, playful tourist. The summer heats up as Kylie uncovers mysteries, secrets, and terrors in the night. She’ll need all her strength and wits to survive – and to save the man she’s come to love.

Whispers in the Dark is romantic suspense set in the Four Corners region of the Southwest. This title stands alone and is not part of a series. Reviewers give it a 4.3 star average: “A great read with a strong plot line & likeable characters!”

 

 

Kris Bock’s Newsletter signup

Kris Bock website

Kris Bock’s Amazon page

Kris Bock at B&N/Nook

Kris Bock at Smashwords

Kris Bock at iTunes

Kris Bock at All Romance Ebooks

Kris Bock on GoodReads

Kris Bock on Facebook

Kris Bock on Twitter

Kris Bock on Pinterest