Second Chances by Carol Burnside

Mayor Jake Fletcher’s small town of Sweetwater Springs is in jeopardy. Their coffers are drying up, thanks to mother nature destroying the major access to the town. Confessing as much to his constituents brings surprises his way:
–Ideas to fix the crisis flooding in
–Two women willing to spearhead the resulting Holiday Extravaganza. One of them, Dixie Jo DeLuca, is an attractive, outgoing real estate agent with a smile that delivers a gut punch.

There’s no time to waste. Jake and Dixie work together, friendly but cautious around each other, flirting a little, but recognizing they’re divorcees with baggage…and three daughters between them. They need to work closely together over the next two months. Any attempt at a relationship could put a strain on their endeavors and their work is too important to the town to jeopardize.

Despite those concerns, their attraction grows. Soon, they agree to a secret affair. They’re two reasonable adults, right?
But a bigger picture has each of them dealing with family concerns as well. Dixie faces an MIA ex, a teen daughter, and a mom pushing her toward an affair. Jake’s sister is divorcing and he’s her attorney, his unpredictable and self-centered ex is coming for Thanksgiving, and he’s harboring a long-kept family secret that he’ll eventually have to reveal to Dixie, even if his honesty means he might lose her.

Amid the festival whirlwind, their day jobs, and daily life with extended family and three children, can Jake and Dixie carve out enough time to build a relationship? And even if that’s possible, are they open to risking their hearts — and those of their children — again?

Warning: The author is not responsible if pizza and cake (as a meal) give you cravings. Contains two reasonably sane adults feeling out of control, sometimes precocious children, and some hot/sweet loving. It also has a not-quite-normal Thanksgiving dinner. Brace yourself. The folks in Sweetwater Springs are a force to be reckoned with.

This book is the fourth in the Sweetwater Springs series. Each book is a standalone title and can be read out of order. However, a better reading experience is had when the books are read in order as characters from previous books appear in this and future books.

Visit the author at
Like her Amazon pg:
Like her page on Facebook:
Follow her on Twitter:
Goodreads – and
Pinterest –

Other titles by this author:
Sweetwater Springs series
A Suitable Wife
Her Unexpected Family
His Small Town Princess

Tropical Heat (all standalone novellas)
Sunset Beach Sizzle
Return To Paradise

Other Standalone titles:
Fake Fiance For Christmas
Nobody’s Baby
Heart 2 Heart (a short story collection)
Home for Christmas (a FREE short story & sample chapters)

Crainesian series (writing as Annie Rayburn):
Insight (short story)
Phantoms & Fantasies
Bittersweet Obsessions

Check Carol/Annie’s website for an up-to-date list of titles available, excerpts and more.

Amazon reviews say Carol’s books are:
“Highly captivating!” “intriguing and a wonderful read” “Emotional and heartwarming” “Engaging!” and “Great reading!”

Sign Up for Our Newsletter